Don't miss a thing!

Get exclusive access to our amazing newsletter, which showcases all the latest buzz of whats happening in & around Lincolnshire!
Email address
Secure and Spam free...

july, 2019

13julallday08sepDinosaur Encounter

more

Event Details

Be transported back in time to when dinosaurs ruled the land in this thrilling exhibition from London’s Natural History Museum, at The Collection museum in Lincoln.

Come face-to-face with your favourite dinosaurs in Dinosaur Encounter at The Collection – with fossil replicas, impressive dinosaur models and animatronics and even a roaring, snorting full size T-Rex.

Pick up an exhibition trail (£2 per trail) to work out the clues and write the correct letter in the box to give you the name of this fierce group of predators. Solve the trail and receive an exclusive Natural History Museum Dinosaur Lolly.

DROP-IN DINO DOODLING AND CRAFT ACTIVITIES

Free dinosaur themed drawing and craft activities will be available in the Usher Gallery daily from 10am – 4pm.

MUSEUM LATES

The exhibition will have extended opening hours (10am – 9pm) every Friday night throughout the exhibition to give you even more chance to see Dinosaur Encounter. The museum galleries and café will stay open late too.

  • Friday 19th July;
  • Friday 26th July;
  • Friday 2nd August
  • Friday 9th August;
  • Friday 16th August;
  • Friday 23rd August;
  • Friday 30th August;
  • Friday 6th September.

FOSSIL HANDLING

Free drop-in sessions take place at 11am every Thursday in August: explore Prehistoric times and find out about dinosaur footprints in hands-on sessions with fossil experts. Please note at busy times queues are likely.

  • Thursday 1st August
  • Thursday 8th August;
  • Thursday 15th August;
  • Thursday 22nd August;
  • Thursday 29th August.

FAMILY FUN DAYS

Exciting Fun Days at The Collection during the summer holidays are linked to Dinosaur Encounter:

  • Dinosaur Explorers
    Tuesday 30th July
    Join in the dinosaur fun by taking part in a dig and learn how to be a palaeontologist;
  • Cretaceous Park Adventures
    Tuesday 6th August
    Explore the world of Cretaceous period and find out about Lincolnshire at that time.
  • Funky Fossils
    Tuesday 13th August
    Get your hands on some fossils, explore the collections and design your own funky creations.
  • Dinosaur Doodle
    Tuesday 20th August
    Dino creative art adventures featuring Big Dino Art.

Workshops and crafts are charged extra: workshops £3; crafts £2, fossil handling free.

CHILLED-OUT SESSIONS

Special morning viewings are available for anyone who would like to visit this popular exhibition but would like a more relaxed experience on Mondays in August from 9am – 10am.

Small adjustments will be made to the sound levels and venue staff will be on hand to help support your visit. The museum galleries and café will be open early too.

  • Monday 5th August;
  • Monday 12th August;
  • Monday 19th August;
  • Monday 26th August.

All visitors are welcome to stay as long as they like, but after 10am the exhibition might be a little busier and the Dinosaurs a little louder.

A limited number of tickets are available for the Chilled-out Sessions: please book to guarantee entry.

Time

July 13 (Saturday) - September 8 (Sunday)

Location

The Collection

Danes Terrace, Lincoln, LN2 1LP

Don't miss a thing!

Get exclusive access to our amazing newsletter, which showcases all the latest buzz of whats happening in & around Lincolnshire!
Email address
Secure and Spam free...
X